Charity work – Project Linus

I ran across an internet article that talked about 25 things the author had learned from crocheting. She also listed 25 organizations that accept crocheted items such as afghans, lap robes, hats, etc. You can find that list of charity organizations here: http://www.crochetconcupiscence.com/2011/09/25-charities-that-accept-crochet-donations/

One of the organizations listed was Project Linus. (Remember Linus from the Peanuts comic? He always carried a blanket.) Project Linus accepts new, handmade blankets and gives them to children in need. Please visit their website for full details: http://www.projectlinus.org/about/

I chose Project Linus for two reasons. First, and foremost, it gives the blankets to children. Second, it’s headquartered in my first hometown, Bloomington, IL. I spent the first 9 years of my life in Bloomington and it’s sister city, Normal, IL, where my mother’s family was from. I learned to crochet from my aunts when I was itty, bitty. It was a way to keep me in the oxygen tents they used as a medical treatment when I had bronchitis and pneumonia, which was at least twice a year from the time I was about 9 months old. Keeping me quiet and occupied was probably quite a chore and both of my aunts – one was a nurse at the hospital I was always in and the other was a teacher – had the patience of Job to sit there and teach a 5 year old how to crochet. I learned how to embroider during that time also. My grandma taught me that. My mom was a working woman and in the evenings when she would come to visit, she would crawl in the oxygen tent (everyone got in that tent with me!) lay beside me and read stories to me. I loved that more than anything.

Anyway, that is why I chose Project Linus. I remember what it was like to be in a hospital. I was blessed to have loving people around me to nurture my talents and I want to give back using the talent they nurtured. I’m going to share my first Project Linus project.

Yellow and Green Blankie

This little crocheted blankie uses the granny square stitch pattern but you crochet it in a straight line. Just rows of the three double crochet, space, double crochet pattern in rows instead of a square. Simple, fast and cute. Here are some pictures of my WIP (work-in-progress)

Image

Image

I used Bernat’s Softee Baby Yarn. It is a 3-ply 100% acrylic yarn; machine wash and dry. Very soft and holds it shape well. I used the following colors, one skein of each except for the white, I used 2 skeins of white. I used a size F(6) crochet hook.

  1. #31306 – Baby, Baby (varigated green, yellow, pink, blue and white)
  2. #02004 – Mint
  3. #02003 – Lemon
  4. #02000 – White

I thought I would also show my ‘totes’. I keep my yarn in a baby wipes box. I have several of these spread among 5 current WIPs. I always have several projects going; keeps me from getting bored. I also keep the crochet hook I am using for a specific project as well as a pair of scissors, pattern info, measuring tape, and plastic darning needle in an old Crystal Light cannister. (My roommate is a constant source for those little gems!) Here’s a couple of pictures of my storage system.

Image

Image

I thought about wrapping yarn around the Crystal Light containers, but I also like that they are see through, so don’t know if I will yarn bomb them or not. LOL

Happy crocheting, y’all.

2 thoughts on “Charity work – Project Linus

  1. Thanks for sharing the link to my article on 25 organizations that accept crochet donations. As you may know, since you saw at least one of the other articles, that article was one of 25 articles that each listed 25 inspiring things for crocheters – for a total of 625 inspiring crochet things.

    I’m so glad that you decided to do some charity crafting and to do it for such a great cause!

Leave a Reply

