Christmas Gifts 2012 (Just don’t tell my family)

I have been hard at work on this year’s chosen Christmas gifts for my son and his family. I am making everyone a scarf this year. They live in Iowa so it gets cold up there, I thought this would be a nice gift from Granny. (And I don’t have to worry about them looking at my blog, lol, they are getting ready to get married and go on their honeymoon, they aren’t paying attention to what dear old Mom is up to! The girls are too young to be on the internet, too!)

The first scarf done is Sydney’s. She is a sweet, angelic little fireball that my son says is exactly like me in temperament. No, I have no idea what he is referring too. Feisty and opinionated, maybe? ; )

Anyway, this is Sydney’s scarf.

Image

Image

The pattern I used is commonly called ‘Kittens (Kitties) In A Row’ and I followed this wonderful lady’s instructions:

http://gingerschatz.blogspot.com/2010/04/kitties-in-row-afghan.html.

I used Caron’s Simply Soft Yarn. If you have never used this yarn find a baby to make a blanket for and use Caron’s!! I won’t make a baby blanket without it! It is soft and has a beautiful sheen to it. It’s 100% acrylic so completely wash and wear. And I make my baby blankets to be used, not kept as a keepsake.

Here’s the breakdown of the pattern and colors I used for the scarf. If you are making a baby blanket you may want to get more yarn. I had plenty left over but not sure one skein would make a blanket, depending on the size of the blanket of course.

Hook size – H

Caron’s Simply Soft, 100% acrylic 4 ply yarn, 1 skein of each color

  1. 9702  Off White
  2. 9719  Soft Pink
  3. 9737  Light Country Peach
  4. 9712  Soft Blue
  5. 9739  Soft Green
  6. 9756  Lavender Blue
One thought on “Christmas Gifts 2012 (Just don’t tell my family)

Leave a Reply

